I used fondant letters to spell out the congrats. I also put some blue and white buttercream, together in a piping bag and squired some clouds on the side of the plane. I used blue fondant square cut outs for the windows and went around them with some red colored buttercream just for a more finished look. This took awhile as I had never covered an odd shape before, you have to smooth from the top and make sure to get all the spaces, in order for it to look right.
I then covered it in fondant. I carved the nose section with a bread knife and covered the whole thing in buttercream frosting, using a piping bag because of all of the carving it was to difficult with a spatula. I then used the round cake and cut it in quarters using 2 full quarter pieces for the wings and I cut one of the other into the shape of the tail. I shaved the first layer of the 9 x13 like we always do for a flat cake but I left the second one with the baking bump to help with the shape and keep me from having a whole lot of shaving to do to the top. I made two 9X 13 in cakes and 1- 8 in round cake.
So this is what I did. He wanted one that looked like the planes he was flying in flight school, but I wanted to make one to look more like the airliners he would be flying soon, and a women always gets her way.  My husband got his Commercial Pilots License and challenged me to make him an airplane cake to celebrate.

